February 3, 2020 · HR Compliance, Human Resource Management,
Extension of California Paid Family Benefits from Six to Eight Weeks
California is one of the pioneer states that has extended the paid family leave benefits from six to eight weeks under the new law SB 83.
When does this family leave law benefit come in effect?
This family leave law benefit gets applied for all the claims that start on or after July 1, 2020.
What is the impact of family leave law on employers?
Paid Family Leave is not a leave entitlement; rather, employees who are eligible to take leave through paid sick leave or the Family Medical Leave Act (“FMLA”)/ California Family Right Act (“CFRA”), or who are otherwise granted leave by the employer, are then eligible to apply for wage replacement benefits through PFL.
The San Francisco Paid Parental Leave Ordinance, which requires employers to pay “supplemental compensation” for the full period that a covered employee receives PFL to bond with a child, will extend from six to eight weeks accordingly.
Unpaid Leave of Absence after Organ Donation
Existing law permits an employee to take a leave of absence with pay, not exceeding 30 business days in a one-year period, for the purpose of organ donation. AB 1223 requires a private or public employer to grant an employee an additional 30 days of unpaid leave for the purpose of organ donation.
When does this bill on an unpaid leave of absence after organ donation come in effect?
The bill on an unpaid leave of absence after organ donation is effective January 1, 2020.
Sexual Harassment Training Requirements — Compliance Period Extended
Under SB 778, an employer with five or more employees must provide at least two hours of training and education regarding sexual harassment to all supervisory employees and at least 1 hour of training to all nonsupervisory employees by January 1, 2021. Thereafter, the training must be given again once every two years.
What is the impact on employers?
Employers must provide the Sexual harassment training to the employees within six months of hire or within six months of the promotion to a supervisory position.
Employers do not have to mandate the training to the employees who are trained in 2019 do not need to be trained again until two years have passed (sometime in 2021, after January 1, 2021, deadline).
When does it come in effect?
The bill on sexual harassment training requirement is effective immediately.
Book a demo with an expert to find out how you can stay compliant with California’s Sexual Harassment training.